A really interesting post about the responsibilities of leaders to distributive and sustainable leadership. Read the comments too – some interesting perspectives

johntomsett

I have been a teacher of English for 24 years, a Headteacher for 9 years and, at the age of 48, this much I know about developing leadership and shaping the SLT.

The days of having to time-serve before gaining a leadership post in schools are well gone; if you’re good enough, you’re old enough. I was fortunate to be given the chance to lead even when I was hardly ready; I owe John Morris, Peter Bratton, Chris Bridge, Norma Taylor and Jonathan Leach for appointing me when I was far from the finished article! Nepotism aside, Elizabeth Murdoch ran BskyB when she was 29 years old.

Growing young leaders is one of the Headteacher’s main priorities. My leadership-talent radar is always on, mainly because it has to be; in ten years of headship, promotions and retirements have meant I have never had the same team two years in a…

View original post 775 more words

Leave a Reply

